1.Applying for Certifications

There are three types of MEL certifications: in accordance with FMS (Fisheries Management Standard), AMS (Aquaculture Management Standard), and Chain of Custody (CoC) Standard.

When applying for certifications, refer to the webpages titled Structure of MEL and Certifications, and contact a Certification Body directly. Here is an outline of the application procedure.

2.Obtaining Certification

The processes for obtaining certifications are as shown below. When applying for an assessment, consult  Certification Body in advance to learn about the overall prospects to save time and costs.

*Certification Procedures


3.Certification Standards

Certification assessments are in accordance with the MEL Certification Standards; FMS (Fisheries Management Standard), AMS (Aquaculture Management Standard), and Chain of Custody (CoC) Standard.

*Fisheries Management Standard(FMS) Ver.2.0
*Fisheries Management Standard Guidelines for Auditors Indicators of Conformity Ver. 2.2

*Assessment Sheet for Auditors of the Fisheries Management Standard

*Aquaculture Management Standard(AMS) Ver.2.0
*Aquaculture Management Standard Guidelines for Auditors Indicators of Conformity Ver. 2.0

*Assessment Sheet for Auditors of the Aquaculture Management Standard

*Chain of Custody Standard(CoC) Ver.2.0
*Guidelines for Auditors of the Chain of Custody Standard
*Assessment Sheet for Auditors of the Chain of Custody Standard

4.Application Form

Application Forms and the necessary information are available at the website of MEL Certification Body.

JFRCA: Japan Fisheries Resource Conservation Association

(JFRCA website,  in Japanese only.)


5.  List of Certified Entities

MEL FMS(ver.2.0), AMS(Ver.1.0), CoC(Ver.2.0) Certification
MEL Certified-entities‗20220421_en
MEL certified-entities_20220524_en
MEL Certified-entities‗20220615_en
MEL Certified-entities‗20220719_en
MEL Certified-entities‗20221014_en